News!

So I haven’t posted for a while.  This is largely due to my final-year workload, but I do have two pieces of news to share.

Firstly, I have received a commission to write a new piano piece for this summer’s Ryedale Festival.  The piece is to have a link to the First World War – 100 years on from its outbreak – and is due to be performed in July.  (Please see the link, below.)

I am particularly pleased about this, as I remember when I was younger (I can’t remember when exactly – some time around my GCSEs, I think) my Dad taking me to a violin and piano concert which was part of this festival.  This was one of the first classical concerts that I attended – I can distinctly remember being quite taken by Debussy’s Violin Sonata – so this local festival has a special place to me.

Secondly, I have been offered an entrance scholarship to study for a Masters of Music in Composition at the Royal Academy of Music, beginning this autumn.  I am currently on the hunt of sponsorship so that I can take up my place, but I look forward to the opportunity to taking it up so that I can write more music and hear it performed.

Leave a Reply

