NCEM Award and BBC Radio 3 Broadcast

Very exciting day to be writing my first ever blog post!  Today my piece Move! was broadcast on Radio 3, after winning the National Centre for Early Music’s Young Composer’s Award in the 19-25 age category.

It’s been a great journey since the 8th March when I submitted the composition, with no expectation that it would win.  To workshop the piece and have it performed by the fantastic ensemble Florilegium was a wonderful opportunity and I am very grateful to them for their work in preparing the piece.

Writing for early instruments has proved even more fruitful than I imagined and I intend to further explore the subtle colours and soundworld that they offer.  To this end I am currently composing a new harpsichord piece for a commission in the style of Louis Couperin’s unmeasured preludes (more on this later!).

Image

Listen to the programme here: http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b02yjjwq

I hope you like Move!.

Leave a Reply

